LinkedIn Ushers in New Default Setting

Keeping an eye out for updates in industry news is part of our job here at Full Media. We believe that in discovering new information, we can pass it along to our co-workers so that every single one of our clients benefits from it. In reality, our clients benefit from the knowledge of all our team members, because when one of us learns something new, we share it!

We recently learned that LinkedIn has added a default setting where users’ names are shared to third-party advertisers. The good news is that you can de-select this default setting in a few simple steps.

1. Log-in to your LinkedIn profile and select “Settings” from the drop-down menu that appears under your name in the top right-hand corner of the homepage.

2. Select “Account.”

3. In the columns that appear to the right, select “Manage Social Advertising.”

4. Uncheck the box that says “LinkedIn may use my name, photo in social advertising.”

5. Be sure to save your change!

You might also check out the new default settings under “E-mail Preferences” (especially check Partner InMail settings) and “Groups, Companies and Applications” (verify the settings for data sharing with 3rd party applications) to ensure that they still fit your preferences.

For more information, please contact us.